Hebrew and Semitic Languages


The Chair of Oriental Languages was founded by Queen Anne in 1709, and the title was changed to Hebrew and Semitic Languages in 1893. The University Court has been patron since 1935, acting on the recommendation of a Board consisting of representatives of the Court and of the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland.


Hebrew and Semitic Languages
Award Type: Professorships
Year Founded: 1709
Record last updated: 18th Apr 2008

University Connections

Associated people

Post Holder:

There are no comments available.