Bill Aitken Prize

List of Awards


Founded in 1985 by Mrs Evelyn Aitken in honour of her husband Dr W G Aitken, Reader in Applied Geology at the University of Strathclyde and previously Director of the Geological Survey of Nyasaland (Malawi). Awarded annually on the recommendation of the academic staff of the Division of Earth Sciences to a final year student who has made a major contribution to the intellectual well-being and morale of the class during geological fieldwork. This prize was transferred to the University from the University of Strathclyde in 1989.


Bill Aitken Prize
Award Type: Prizes
Year Founded: 1985
View information about awards currently being offered
Record last updated: 6th Jul 2007

University Connections

Associated people

There are no comments available.