Arthur Jones Memorial Prize in Citizenship

List of Awards


Founded in 1921 by Sir Henry Jones, Professor of Moral Philosophy, and Lady Jones in memory of their son Arthur Meredydd Jones, undergraduate in Arts, who was killed in action in 1918. Awarded annually by the Senate on the recommendation of the adjudicators for the best essay on a prescribed subject relating to citizenship. The adjudicators are the Professor of Moral Philosophy, the Regius Professor of English Language and Literature, the Professor of History or the Professor of Scottish History, whichever is the senior, the Edward Caird Professor of Politics and the Lecturer in Social Economics; the Professor of Moral Philosophy is convener. Candidates must be matriculated students attending at least one class in the University.


Arthur Jones Memorial Prize in Citizenship
Award Type: Prizes
Year Founded: 1921
More Information [external]
Record last updated: 6th Jul 2007

University Connections

Associated people

There are no comments available.