Mary G Ross Prizes

List of Awards


The Mary G Ross Prizes was founded in 1966 at the bequest of Charles E Owen in fulfilment of the wishes of his wife Mrs Mary Gilbert Owen née Ross, MA 1916. For the purpose of the awards, twelve Scottish students in the Ordinary class of French and six Scottish students in the Higher Ordinary class of French, selected by the Professors of French Language and Literature on the basis of tutors' reports on progress in the Martinmas and Candlemas terms, are invited to submit an essay on a set subject and to undergo oral examination. The prizes are awarded on the basis of the essay and the oral examination but the results of the May-June degree examinations are also taken into account in the adjudication. The prize-winners are encouraged to spend some time in France.


Mary G Ross Prizes
Award Type: Prizes
Year Founded: 1966
More Information [external]
Record last updated: 29th Jul 2007

There are no comments available.