Allan and Chalk Prizes

List of Awards


The Allan and Chalk Prizes were founded in 1983 by two anonymous donors in memory of Donald J Allan, Professor of Greek from 1957 to 1971 and Hubert HO Chalk, Lecturer in Greek from 1950 to 1981. They are awarded annually on the recommendation of the Head of Department for excellence in Level 1 Greek (Allan Prize) and in Level 1 Classical Civilisation (Chalk Prize).


Allan and Chalk Prizes
Award Type: Prizes
Year Founded: 1983
More Information [external]
Record last updated: 20th Jul 2007

University Connections

Associated people

There are no comments available.