Scott-Macfarlan Medal

List of Awards


The Scott-Macfarlan Medal was founded in 1870 by Miss Sophia Tenison Scott, daughter of Robert Allan Scott, Vicar of Cranwell, Snell Exhibitioner 1825, in fulfilment of her father's intentions and in memory of his uncle Duncan MacFarlan, Principal of the University from 1823 to 1858. It was amalgamated in 1986 into a single classical medals fund, from which medals may be awarded to students in any of the level 2 classes of Greek or Latin, who are deemed by the Head of Department to be of sufficient distinction; the Scott-Macfarlan medal is customarily awarded to the best student in level 2 Greek.


Scott-Macfarlan Medal
Award Type: Medals
Year Founded: 1870
More Information [external]
Record last updated: 28th Nov 2007

University Connections

Associated people

There are no comments available.