Gilhagie Bursary

List of Awards


The Gilhagie Bursary was founded in 1753 by a bequest of 1,000 merks from Agnes Gilhagie, widow of the Glasgow merchant William Somerville. It was originally intended to be paid to a student of Divinity, to be named by the Magistrates, Town Council and Ministers of Glasgow.

The bursary was combined by Ordinance in 1858 with the two Struthers bursaries. It is open to Arts graduates studying Divinity and two bursaries are awarded biannually, for two years.


Gilhagie Bursary
Award Type: Bursaries
Year Founded: 1753
More Information [external]
Record last updated: 7th Aug 2007

There are no comments available.